Journal

College Troubles

Completely off topic compared to the posts I normally publish, but who cares?

Last September, I decided I was going to make moves with a career, one that I can actually see myself dedicating a lot of time and effort to. I chose hairdressing.

Without sugarcoating things to make myself seem a lot better than I am, I’m a few weeks from either passing or failing the course, right now I feel like it’s leaning more towards the latter. It’s not that I’m not capable of being an amazing hairdresser, I know I am – but right now it’s getting harder and harder to make that a reality.

The majority of the course is spent in the salon, working on real clients and getting a true taste of what it could be like after college. Today was the final day of our salon being open to the public, from here, I’ll need to find my own clients to bring in for the last 2 colour assessments I have left to do. I’m already done with cutting.

Even if I manage to find the 2 people that want the final services that I require for assessments, I still need to complete 3 manager assessments – which is going to be much harder now the salon isn’t open commercially. This means even doing everything I can possibly do personally, there’s still a chance that I’m going to fail this course.

Right now I’m wondering if I’ve wasted the last 8 months of my life, pushing for a career that might be on a permanent halt for me. To say I am disheartened would be an understatement at this point.

I’m going to be in college on Friday, I shall have a good talk with my main tutor and see what she thinks the outcome of the next 4 weeks will be for me. I’m crossing my fingers, it’d be nice to hear that I can still get through this but we’ll see.

Regardless of the outcome, I’ll be done with college soon and be ready to focus on the next stage of my life, it’s all still very exciting!

One thought on “College Troubles

Leave a Reply

