Journal

“Are you a girl or a boy?”

Twice in three days I have been asked the very same question by two different random children, just while I’ve been going about my usual daily business.

Are you a girl or a boy?

Neither of the two times did I even entertain the question, I carried on with what I was doing and let it go over my head. Not only is it rude to ask something like that regardless of me being transgender, I don’t think any answer I could have given would have had any sort of positive outcome.

I’m a tough cookie for the most part so I have also decided not to take it personal. I haven’t started hormone replacement therapy yet, so somebody feeling the need to verify which gender I am means I’m doing something right. I’ve been making more of an effort lately, perhaps the recent questions are a lot to do with that.I only ever really wear make up when I’m in college.

If it keeps happening I’m sure I’ll try different approaches but I’m hoping it doesn’t, I’d rather an easy, quiet life.

3 thoughts on ““Are you a girl or a boy?”

Leave a Reply

