Journal

Legal Name & Title Change

This isn’t the first time I’ve posted on the blog about this but there’s good reason for that.

When I first came out as transgender I was set on completely changing my name, I wanted rid of what was and I wanted to move forward with what is. I spent over a year trying to figure out what I want to spend the rest of my life being known as, with no prevail.

I was blessed with a mostly female, but gender neutral name at birth. While I was at the GIC back in September, I had asked if a name change was required due to my birth name being neutral, they said I don’t need to change it and were a bit confused about why I even wanted to change it in the first place.

I decided a few months ago to keep the first part of my double barrel first name because I don’t hate it, I’ll be changing the second part of the first name to make it sound gender specific. The blog has been using the name I’ll be legally changing to since the very first post.

This could make this whole transitioning process a bit harder due to using the same first name, my intentions are to use ‘Jaylyn’ instead of ‘Jamie-Lynn’ though, hopefully that’ll stop it being my name that gets in the way of what pronouns people use for me and stuff.

The legal change will be applied for in the next 2-4 weeks, it’ll be legal as soon as me and a witness have signed the certificate they’ll send me through the post.

If all else fails, I’ll completely change my first name in the future, it’s most certainly not my name that defines who I am as a person so it wouldn’t be a huge issue for me if it turns into a must.

 

2 thoughts on “Legal Name & Title Change

Leave a Reply

