Uncategorized

Being Transgender Is Not A Big Deal

Our experiences during transition will all be different, unique in their own way and the way we handle these experiences will differ depending on the person.

The way I handle things is very relaxed, not much bothers me and I see the funny side of most things. A lot of things that bother other people in the same situation as me, don’t really bother me too much.

There’s words people are told not to use around transgender individuals. Personally I don’t care what words people use around me especially not if it’s in a non-derogatory way and if it is, it’s not likely to have any more of an impact on my life than any other insult(s) would.

I’ve spoken to a lot of people that don’t want others knowing that they’re transgender, I understand for some people this is the best option for their own safety and I both respect and admire those that have to hide either who they are, or how they were born out of fear of other people and how they’ll react.

My personal approach is to neither hide nor broadcast it, I’ll live happier if I care less about people finding out. It’s not something I’m ever going to go out of my way to tell people but if they ask, I don’t see much point in lying about it. It is what it is.

I really don’t talk about being transgender too much, other than on this blog and occasionally on Twitter. It works for me, I don’t treat being transgender like it’s a big deal, so neither do the other people in my life and that’s perfect. The more normal everybody else treats it, the easier my transition is going to be.

Although I have asked people to switch pronouns, I have never forced it down the throats of the people I love and because of that, I haven’t lost any friends or family. Force feeding people isn’t a good approach, it’s more likely to piss them off.

I’m not at all saying that my way of dealing with things is perfect or right for everybody, it works for me though and that’s what matters, nobody else has to live my life – they have their own to deal with.

 

2 thoughts on “Being Transgender Is Not A Big Deal

  1. “My personal approach is to neither hide nor broadcast it, I’ll live happier if I care less about people finding out. It’s not something I’m ever going to go out of my way to tell people but if they ask, I don’t see much point in lying about it. It is what it is.”

    This! This, this, this! I’ve been fretting the past few days about what I’ll say if and when I ever get my first GIC meeting and the experts ask me about other people’s views on me being trans/non-binary.

    You’ve just answered them better than I ever could.

    Thank you, Jamie Lynn – great blog.

    Andie xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

