Diary

“You’ll always be a guy to me..”

Yesterday was a good day, I spent some long overdue time with a friend who moved out of town a while ago and I met his girlfriend for the first time. It was really nice seeing him/them but it was the first time we’d spoke in person since I came out as transgender.

I knew before we met up that there would be questions and I’m totally fine answering them, especially being as we’ve been close friends for a long time. At one point of the chat he said “you’ll always be a guy to me..” and then spent a minute trying to rephrase it due to how it obviously sounded. Luckily though after a bit of rephrasing I knew what he was trying to say and I’m not at all easily offended even if he was trying to be mean, which he wasn’t.

Due to how much time me and my closest friends have spent together in the past and the memories we share, I know it’s going to be hard for them to try and look past what they knew and adjust – which is what my friend was trying to say yesterday. I actually mentioned this in an earlier post, this pretty much vouches what I wrote about.

Whatever though, I have a strong relationship with my friends and I know being transgender isn’t going to change that.

..as always, a little patience will go a long way.

One thought on ““You’ll always be a guy to me..”

Leave a Reply

