Diary

9 – 11 / 13 waiting!

Pretty much a week or maybe 2 weeks after Manchester Pride last year, I started the ball rolling on the medical side of my transition. I spoke to my doctor who referred me to a psychiatrist, he told me there’s no other issues aside from needing to get my transition started, then gave his recommendation for a referral to the Gender Identity Clinic in London. I then went back to my doctor who sent off the referral to London.

It has now been 11 months since my referral, the paperwork was dated September so next month will be 12 / 13 months of the predicted wait over with. Due to an error on my side, there could be an extra 2 months added onto the first referral in September, which would leave me at 9 month waiting so far.

Whatever though, I know the letter with a date for my first appointment will arrive sometime over the next couple of months so it’s not all bad news. Once the letter arrives and I have a date for the first appointment, I think I may actually scream because that’s when things will start moving forward properly.

Fingers crossed everything goes well during the appointments in London, this has been a long wait already to be told at the end of it that I can’t start HRT or whatever. It worries me because this is my only positive option, if I’m told that my only option isn’t an option I think I may burst.

Right now though I’m gonna keep on being patient and just wait for the letter, I spend far too much time overthinking about things that probably won’t even happen.

Leave a Reply

