Diary

The difference between old friends and family & new friends!

Something that I think about a ridiculous amount is how other people see me, I do my best to not care so much about other peoples opinions regarding my gender and/or sexuality but I think there’s only a certain amount that can be ignored, although I don’t think ignored is the best word.

Ignorant opinions and uneducated opinions can be brushed off as those opinions aren’t relevant, the opinions I’m talking about are those of the people that have known me longer than I’ve been out as transgender and those that I’ve met/will meet since coming out.

The people that have known me longer than I’ve been out or the majority/all of my life will have seen me and known me as a male. This means there’s an adjusting process that I’m totally aware of and I accept that. Even once the ‘adjusting’ has been done though, memories still exist and not having the thought that I was born biologically male in the back of their minds will be tough I think.

I’m not gonna go trying to force transgender education down the throats of those I care about, it’s been 12 months since I came out so people are getting to know this by knowing me and I’m fine with that.

New people will know me for who I am, there won’t be a massive part of me that I’m hiding so they’ll be getting the real me from the offset which makes the use of pronouns a lot easier and because they’ve never seen that masculine facade, they’ll never have it in the back of their minds. They’ll see me as I am, for who I am.

I don’t really suppose it’s a massive deal because the people that matter past, present and future will obviously accept that part of me and will accept me for who I am.. I can’t really ask for more than that!

 

One thought on “The difference between old friends and family & new friends!

Leave a Reply

